Bigbruin.com
Home :: Reviews & Articles ::
Forum :: Info :: :: Facebook :: Twitter :: Youtube :: RSS Feed
Search  :: Register :: Log in
Eagle Tech Computers D-Series External Storage System
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Storage
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20054
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Fri, 03 Aug 2007 07:35:50    Post Subject: Eagle Tech Computers D-Series External Storage System Reply with quote View Single Post

This review will take a look at an interesting new enclosure from Eagle Tech Computers. Their D-Series External Storage System, model ET-CSDU2F-BK, supports two SATA hard drive (with capacities up to 750GB each) in either a RAID 0 or JBOD configuration, and connects to a host computer via either USB 2.0 or Firewire. - The Review
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 667
Location: Pic-A-Nic Basket
CPickford
Rated PG


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue, 09 Oct 2007 15:14:11    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Would this external HDD SATA RAID0 enclosure work with an already existing RAID0 array?

We had a software RAID on our editing suite, but the motherboard died. We're hoping to recover the video files that were on the RAID without going through the tedium of recapturing them all from the source tapes. Our hope is to be able to simply install the hard drives into this enclosure, and have it recognize the existing RAID.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20054
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Tue, 09 Oct 2007 21:04:25    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Hi... welcome!

Considering the connection is Firewire or USB, I would guess the configuration would be different than whatever chipset the previous RAID array was based on. While you may get lucky, it definitely isn't likely.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Hellfire
Rated XXX


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3473

PostPosted: Wed, 10 Oct 2007 07:22:35    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Agreed with BB.

I will also say though, the drives were un-changed when I connected them. That was part of the problem I had to begin with, one of the drives was partitioned, so it wasn't working. Removed that partition and it worked perfectly.

I'm not sure how your RAID worked, however when I entered windows and connected this, the Disk Management tool in Windows showed both drives as one drive, as if there was two partitions. Deleted the partitions, and it became one drive. (Hopefully that makes sense)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CPickford
Rated PG


Joined: 09 Oct 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed, 10 Oct 2007 09:22:40    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Thanks for your prompt replies. I'm going to go ahead and try it anyway... but I know it's a long shot. The good news is, the data isn't irreplaceable. I'm pretty sure I can rebuild just about everything that was on there, thanks to keeping our project files and video files on separate drives... but when we've got projects waiting to be edited, and they're already delayed by having to rebuild our editing suite, I'm hoping to avoid added delays from having to recapture all our footage.

I did try plugging the same drives into my computer at home, and Windows Vista recognized them as two separate drives, but couldn't access the data (obviously) and was prompting me to format them. Clearly, Windows Vista is missing the point.

Again, thanks for your input. I'll post an update once it arrives, and give you the verdict. Here's hoping for miracles! Cool In the worst case, we'll have yet another method of storing files - particularly as we move into HD editing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hellfire
Rated XXX


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3473

PostPosted: Wed, 10 Oct 2007 09:57:02    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Good luck with it! Please do let us know how it turns out.

The difference will be that the device is designed as a RAID 0 device, while Vista, unless you use a software RAID application (which I'm not sure if there are any good working ones), it will only act as it did for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Storage All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Contact Us :: On Facebook :: On Twitter :: On Youtube :: Newsletter :: RSS Feed :: FAQ :: Links :: Sponsors :: Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2000 - 2018 Bigbruin.com - All rights reserved