Bigbruin.com
Home :: Reviews & Articles ::
Forum :: Info :: :: Facebook :: Youtube :: RSS Feed
Search  :: Register :: Log in
about painting stuff
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Overclocking, Cooling, and Modding
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Invinciblegod
Rated PG

PostPosted: Tue, 10 May 2005 13:05:29    Post Subject: about painting stuff Reply with quote View Single Post

How do i give it that glossy shiny look? I'm pretty new at painting anything so i don't really know. If you want an example scroll to the bottom of the link and look at the mouse.
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=802808&page=3&pp=20
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

IceNine
*The Freshest*

PostPosted: Tue, 10 May 2005 13:14:55    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

I would think you'd need a high gloss paint, or perhaps some clear coat.

A letter to a soldier
dadx2mj
Happy Camper

PostPosted: Tue, 10 May 2005 14:11:55    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Yes high gloss paint and clear coat are required but before that the prep of the surface to be painted is very important. Cleaning and sanding the item to be painted and possibly a coat of primer before the paint. Also many thin layers tend to be better than one or two thick layers.
IceNine
*The Freshest*

PostPosted: Tue, 10 May 2005 14:26:31    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Dadx2mj, Would you use model paint? Or what?

A letter to a soldier
dadx2mj
Happy Camper

PostPosted: Tue, 10 May 2005 14:37:07    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

I have never tried model paint. I am no expert on painting but from what I have done I have found a good epoxy spray paint seems to be the most durable. Also paint seems to be one of those things that you get what you pay for the more expensive the paint usually the better the results.

Invinciblegod this thread really belongs in "Mods and Ends" so I hope you dont mine me moving it there. Grin
FOX
I <3 Quail