Bigbruin.com
Home :: Reviews & Articles ::
Forum :: Info :: :: Facebook :: Twitter :: Youtube :: RSS Feed
Search  :: Register :: Log in
Max Payne won't run on 9600XT
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Games
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20254
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Thu, 22 Jan 2004 23:38:21    Post Subject: Max Payne won't run on 9600XT Reply with quote View Single Post

Original Max Payne... Laughing

All my other games, regardless of age run fine on this card... but Max Payne won't. The program launches, and when you go to start the game it shows it loading for a splt second, and then you're back at the Windows desktop.

I have tried different resolutions, and both hardware/software rendering... Nothing!

Any ideas? Wave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 667
Location: Pic-A-Nic Basket
IceNine
*The Freshest*


Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1459
Location: Bel Air

PostPosted: Thu, 22 Jan 2004 23:44:57    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

is it patched?
_________________

A letter to a soldier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20254
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Thu, 22 Jan 2004 23:49:01    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

The game? No... It was installed for use on my GeForce2 Ti and ran fine then... INstalled the new card and the problem started. So, I uninstalled, and re-installed the game. Same problem.

Do I need to go look for a patch online?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
IceNine
*The Freshest*


Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1459
Location: Bel Air

PostPosted: Fri, 23 Jan 2004 00:36:01    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

I don't know, but it's the first thing I would check.
_________________

A letter to a soldier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimBowy
Moderator


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 1626

PostPosted: Fri, 23 Jan 2004 00:52:35    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Get the patch, you'll want that regardless if it fixes the problem. Make sure your using the latest version of your cards drivers. Also, make sure your running the latest version of Direct X (i believe it to be 9.0b). Other than that, find the Official Max Payne website and check their support message board.

You can't be the only person having this problem, even if you are these guys can help you out!

_________________
- Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20254
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Sat, 24 Jan 2004 17:34:15    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Got a patch, and all is well!! The patch is nearly 2 years old... Laughing But, it did the trick!!

Upgraded Catalyst drivers as well... Had the ones on CD, went to the version available a week ago, and then new ones came out last week... 3DMark2003 scores went down each time... 3802, 3801, 3799... All close enough to be insignificant (and all at 1024x768 32).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BeerCheeze
*hick*


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 9285
Location: At the Bar

PostPosted: Sun, 25 Jan 2004 02:59:57    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

I just installed 3.10... and got a 5370 on 3DMark2003
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 667
Location: Pic-A-Nic Basket
IceNine
*The Freshest*


Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1459
Location: Bel Air

PostPosted: Sun, 25 Jan 2004 03:44:20    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Big Bruin wrote:
Got a patch, and all is well!! The patch is nearly 2 years old... Laughing But, it did the trick!!


I called it!

_________________

A letter to a soldier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20254
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Sun, 25 Jan 2004 08:55:35    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Dr. EvilCheeze wrote:
I just installed 3.10... and got a 5370 on 3DMark2003


3.10? Not sure on the first two, but I think I had something like 3.6 and then 3.7... the new one is definitely 4.1...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Games All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Contact Us :: On Facebook :: On Twitter :: On Youtube :: Newsletter :: RSS Feed :: FAQ :: Links :: Sponsors :: Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2000 - 2018 Bigbruin.com - All rights reserved