Bigbruin.com
Home :: Reviews & Articles ::
Forum :: Info :: :: Facebook :: Twitter :: Youtube :: RSS Feed
Search  :: Register :: Log in
Ribbon Virus warning!!!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Spire
Hall Pass B!tch!!!


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 2165
Location: Up to my Nipples in Alaska

PostPosted: Mon, 18 Aug 2003 01:20:29    Post Subject: Ribbon Virus warning!!! Reply with quote View Single Post

I have had a strange number of HDD ribbons bite the dust in the last few weeks. 4 of them from 4 different systems. Is there a magic ribbon virus going around that I just haven't heard of??? These were all ribbons that came from Asus Mb's (included in MB box). They all worked in the beginning. Anyone else caught the "Asus Ribbon Virus?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 667
Location: Pic-A-Nic Basket
PooM
Rated R


Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 69
Location: Sussex, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon, 18 Aug 2003 03:15:23    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

What does it do?
_________________
v2lab.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JimBowy
Moderator


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 1626

PostPosted: Mon, 18 Aug 2003 03:18:20    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Spire its funny you blame it on a virus but in reality it must be something else... Are you sure all the ribbons are dead? Try them in different components, make sure everything is in tight. You might want to look for any damage to cables? What motherboard is this with?.... 4 seems like an awfull lot to just die .... Contact ASUS possibly.. ?
_________________
- Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spire
Hall Pass B!tch!!!


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 2165
Location: Up to my Nipples in Alaska

PostPosted: Mon, 18 Aug 2003 19:18:02    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

2 Biostar M7VIG's one Asus A7V266VM and one A7V333. But, all 4 were cables that came with Asus MB's. I have checked the cables with my A7N8X and it doesn't recognize drives with the mystery cables either. Not really looking for an answer, just thought it strange. I change nothing else, but replace the ribbons with either standard 80 wire ribbons or fancy type round ones and everything is good again. Switch back to the bad one and its still won't detect the drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T-shirt
Rated XXX


Joined: 22 Aug 2003
Posts: 795
Location: Snohomish, WA USA

PostPosted: Sat, 23 Aug 2003 11:56:10    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Maybe they're just cheap cables.
There is no way that software could damage them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trekrider
Feeling: Prehistoric


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 2176
Location: Twin cities,MN

PostPosted: Sat, 23 Aug 2003 12:09:02    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Hardware, like a hammer could damage them Yikes
_________________
Two wrongs don't make a right!
But, three lefts do!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Software All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Contact Us :: On Facebook :: On Twitter :: On Youtube :: Newsletter :: RSS Feed :: FAQ :: Links :: Sponsors :: Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2000 - 2018 Bigbruin.com - All rights reserved