Home :: Reviews & Articles :: Forum :: Info ::
 
Bigbruin.com Bigbruin.com Tech
   
Search  :: Register :: Log in
I cannot open an Access database
problem with Access 2007
Go To Page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gloria Warley
Rated PG


Joined: 06 Mar 2015
Posts: 9
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Mon, 09 Mar 2015 13:51:39    Post Subject: I cannot open an Access database Reply with quote View Single Post

Hi everyone, I', writing this topic because I need some help.

I was working in an Access database when it closed and I lost all my work and all my data because the database has not reopened. I've tried with many tips that I showed on the web, but none of these worked even the Microsoft support page.

So, I guess the last option is a recovery tool, but I don´t know much about it. Maybe some of you could recommend a good software to repair a database in Access 2007.

Thanks!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 667
Location: Pic-A-Nic Basket
Ice Bank
Mice Elf


Joined: 11 May 2013
Posts: 1286
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue, 10 Mar 2015 06:19:16    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Can you run compact/repair on the database?

Tools > Database utilities > Compact and repair database

_________________
boom!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gloria Warley
Rated PG


Joined: 06 Mar 2015
Posts: 9
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Tue, 10 Mar 2015 13:15:57    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

No I can not, the file is dead! I think that the only way is with a recovery tool.
Thank you for your reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gloria Warley
Rated PG


Joined: 06 Mar 2015
Posts: 9
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Wed, 11 Mar 2015 12:37:01    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

A name? I've seen software companies like Stellar, Cimaware, Datanume, Kernel but I do not know which is better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skarydrunkguy
Rated XXX


Joined: 14 Sep 2009
Posts: 235
Location: under your bed

PostPosted: Thu, 12 Mar 2015 00:06:43    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Access in a pita. Do you get an error message upon attempting to open the file? Has the file size changed significantly (was 10mb now 100kb)? Are you sure you don't have a backup somewhere? Is shadowcopy enabled on your workstation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 19890
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Thu, 12 Mar 2015 10:37:30    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Nah - don't pay for anything that might work - get Microsoft's free solution...

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/295334

Jetcomp... http://download.microsoft.com/download/access2000/Utility/1.0/WIN98Me/EN-US/JetCU40.exe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gloria Warley
Rated PG


Joined: 06 Mar 2015
Posts: 9
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Thu, 12 Mar 2015 13:39:33    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

The file does not open and show this message: "The file is not in the correct format for a Microsoft Office Access project."

Unfortunatly my brother did not activate the shadowcopy!

Sorry, but I said that support Microsoft does not work., thanks anyway for your reply. At this point I'd rather pay to lose my data.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 667
Location: Pic-A-Nic Basket
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 19890
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Thu, 12 Mar 2015 14:32:15    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Nah, if that didn't work you might as well just start typing it over again from memory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gloria Warley
Rated PG


Joined: 06 Mar 2015
Posts: 9
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Mon, 16 Mar 2015 11:24:02    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Hi again,
Finally I could recover all my data with AccessFIX, I tested other software as Datanume or Stellar and also works fine, but AccessFIX could recover more macros and modules. I also decided to use this software because I could find a 30% off coupon code. Thanks for help me, regards!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
byronpaul
Rated PG


Joined: 31 Oct 2017
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed, 01 Nov 2017 11:35:39    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Hello Gloria, I have some problem my Microsoft Excel can fix my problem with the Access Fix software?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Software All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Go To Page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Contact Us :: On Facebook :: On Twitter :: On Youtube :: Newsletter :: RSS Feed :: FAQ :: Links :: Sponsors :: Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Bigbruin.com - All rights reserved