Bigbruin.com
Home :: Reviews & Articles ::
Forum :: Info :: :: Facebook :: Twitter :: Youtube :: RSS Feed
Search  :: Register :: Log in
Eagle Tech Computers External Hard Drive Enclosures
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Storage
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20054
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Fri, 20 Jul 2007 06:53:42    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

This is the first time I have had the opportunity to look at an enclosure from Eagle Tech Computers, and they have sent over two different 3.5" hard drive enclosures to review. One is a IDE/SATA to USB hybrid enclosure from their T-Series, and the other is a SATA to eSATA/USB enclosure from their M-Series. - The Review
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 667
Location: Pic-A-Nic Basket
db042188
Rated PG


Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon, 18 Jan 2010 12:58:20    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

we just bought the eagle hybrid T series 3.5 format. Three different xp machines recognized it and said it was functional right after plugging in the usb. But none allowed mapping a letter drive to it. None automatically mapped a drive either. So we're dead in the water. We tried ide and sata hard drives from a pc that recently broke down. We used the special adapter kit on the sata. The purple light appears but we dont hear either drive moving when power is on. Bang Head I tried corresponding with Eagle and didnt even get their automatic reply. I'm not sure if they are going to charge me for asking a question on a 2 day old product anyway. I looked at their faqs and saw nothing even close. We're going to try pluggingh the sata right into another pc and draw conclusions from there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hellfire
Rated XXX


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3473

PostPosted: Mon, 18 Jan 2010 14:59:06    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Did you check Computer Management in the control panel?

Also, was the hard drive was used previously in Vista or Win 7? I know occassionally I have issues moving a drive from Vista/Win 7 to a non-Vista/Win7 machine. Reboots and different USB ports usually resolve it...not all the time though Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
db042188
Rated PG


Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon, 18 Jan 2010 15:05:45    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

yes, after not seeing a drive letter mapped, we went to computer management/disk management and didnt see the device listed.

No , the machine it came from (the one that's fried) was also xp. We're hoping to recover general files from one drive (I think the sata) and pictures from the other (I think the ide).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
db042188
Rated PG


Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon, 18 Jan 2010 17:19:29    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

i'm very non technical on the hardware end. I got an email from Eagle. I think what they are telling me is that the one section of pins (jumper pins) on the hard drive that doesnt get "plugged" into the enclosure needs to match this "domino like" diagram on the hard drive's seal that sits above the words "MASTER (1 DRIVE)". If so, I would need one more black cap over two more pins because currently there is only one black cap on the jumper pins. I'll ask them if making this unit look like a master might confuse the new pc itself, which is booting off its own c drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hellfire
Rated XXX


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3473

PostPosted: Tue, 19 Jan 2010 10:29:32    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

It should be set as master for going into an enclosure. That makes sense, USB uses a different controller so it won't confuse the computer. Besides, you'll boot off the internal drive, then plug in the USB drive once you're into Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
db042188
Rated PG


Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue, 19 Jan 2010 11:11:46    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

thanks, the more I look at the seal, the more I think it was already set to master. Under General Pin Setting , the leftmost of 3 rectangles seems to be the configuration that relates to "MASTER" . In that rectangle the leftmost pair of pins is enclosed in a smaller rectangle. The physical pins had a plastic cap over those pin positions already so that is why I believe it was already set at Master.

So at this point I've emailed Eagle back saying I think I am set at master and am hoping they havent abandoned me yet. I'm in a different time zone but havent heard from them since before noon their time yesterday. Prior to that I got two emails within 30 minutes of eachother. Patience is my only choice rifght now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 667
Location: Pic-A-Nic Basket
db042188
Rated PG


Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed, 20 Jan 2010 14:33:14    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

while I wait for Eagle to get back to me Rolling Eyes , has anybody ever heard of recovering a hard disk's platter without spending the $500 I hear the clean room specialists charge? What I mean is this. If my ide and sata drives are both fried, is it possible that only their controller circuitry took the hit, and if I could find someone's throwaway (or ebay) equivalents, maybe I can attach replacement boards in place of the fried ones and recover my data? I know one of the disks is a Samsung Spinpoint. I believe both are 4-5 years old.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
db042188
Rated PG


Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed, 20 Jan 2010 15:06:53    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

never mind. I see lots of info about this subject on the web.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Storage All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Contact Us :: On Facebook :: On Twitter :: On Youtube :: Newsletter :: RSS Feed :: FAQ :: Links :: Sponsors :: Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2000 - 2018 Bigbruin.com - All rights reserved