Bigbruin.com
Home :: Reviews & Articles ::
Forum :: Info :: :: Facebook :: Twitter :: Youtube :: RSS Feed
Search  :: Register :: Log in
IWILL ZMAXdp Dual Opteron Small Form Factor Barebones System
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Systems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20057
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Fri, 29 Dec 2006 11:35:14    Post Subject: IWILL ZMAXdp Dual Opteron Small Form Factor Barebones System Reply with quote View Single Post

The IWILL ZMAXdp System may not be the latest or greatest, but it is capable of providing some serious computing power in an attractive small form factor configuration. With the potential for two dual-core Opterons, 2GB dual channel DDR, and SATA RAID, it is a work horse disguised as a pony. - The Review


Last edited by Doctor Feelgood on Sun, 07 Jan 2007 01:28:36; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 667
Location: Pic-A-Nic Basket
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20057
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Sat, 30 Dec 2006 11:56:22    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Senor Cheeze popped this up onto Digg, and any bumps there would be appreciated! Digg Link

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20057
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Thu, 25 Jan 2007 23:53:27    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

These things are back on sale... $192ish

I have made mine my main system! Grin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20057
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Mon, 26 Feb 2007 23:41:51    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Check this out... This reseller has these systems for $140 each. Nice enough, but buy two and it is $115 each!!!

Store Link

Good Reseller Rating

I made the review sample my daily rig! Love it. May buy one more for parts... I fear the day if/when this proprietary PSU may die pushing all four cores to Fold@Home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
acruxksa
Doh!


Joined: 17 Oct 2003
Posts: 1046
Location: The Cradle of Storms

PostPosted: Tue, 27 Feb 2007 00:45:18    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

BB,
Are these are the 940 pin opterons? Standard DDR ram, not registered or ecc?............................Tempting..............................Very Tempting.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20057
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Tue, 27 Feb 2007 08:31:32    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

The board uses 940 Opterons, and you can run just one chip at a time... But you do need ECC DDR (333 or 400). I am unsure if registered is required off the top of my head, but I happen to be using DDR 400 ECC Registered here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
diggerbgt
Rated PG


Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue, 20 Mar 2007 17:13:38    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

I did getone of these while available, but even with only 2- Opteron 246 HE processors I find it quite load. Is there any suggestion for a solution.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 667
Location: Pic-A-Nic Basket
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 20057
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Tue, 20 Mar 2007 17:22:13    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Hi, and welcome - is it loud all the time, or just while under a heavy processing load?

I have 2x Opteron 270 CPUs, and although it isn't silent while idling or just surfing the Net, etc... It really only gets loud when I have the CPUs maxed out on something like Folding@Home.

First step would be to check the BIOS for the temperature where the fans react. I think mine came set in the low 40C range, now I have it at 55C. So, it just doesn't ramp up the fans as early.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bigbruin.com Forum Index -> Systems All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Contact Us :: On Facebook :: On Twitter :: On Youtube :: Newsletter :: RSS Feed :: FAQ :: Links :: Sponsors :: Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2000 - 2018 Bigbruin.com - All rights reserved