Forum :: Info :: :: Facebook :: Youtube :: RSS Feed
Search  :: Register :: Log in
q6600 and new computer
building new pc
Go To Page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
imadrunkie
Rated PG

PostPosted: Sat, 31 Jan 2009 20:37:16    Post Subject: q6600 and new computer Reply with quote View Single Post

hello, im buying a q6600 not the GO one and need help putting together a pc. Im kinda new to this but was looking to also buy the gigabyte p45 but not sure which type of one. So this is what i need:

case
ram
power supply
hardrive
motherboard (gigabyte p45?)
processor (going to use the q6600)
and maybe a fan to put ontop of the processor to keep cool??

please let me know what you guys think of to do?? also kinda keep it under 700$ Smile if thats even possible?

thanks!!!
Chris
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!

PostPosted: Sat, 31 Jan 2009 20:56:55    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Hi - Welcome! Definitely possible for under $700, but it depends on some of the options...

Would this be a P45 based on DDR2 or DDR3? DDR3 does make it more expensive. DDR2 RAM is cheap, so you could probably get something from OCZ, G.Skill, or other good brands for something like $50 for 4GB.

Many of things might come down to good deal hunting on solid brands (PSU, case, hard drive).

What about the video card? That could take the biggest chunk out of your budget if you let it.

I guess that is a start...
imadrunkie
Rated PG

PostPosted: Sat, 31 Jan 2009 21:02:42    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

yeah forgot about the video card. Im using a 32inch toshiba 720p lcd for my monitor so would like to get high quality videos outta the card. any good (kinda cheap) cards out there that u suggest? also what kinda case would fit the motherboard and also cool the insides down? thanks
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!

PostPosted: Sun, 01 Feb 2009 11:17:42    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post