Bigbruin.com
Home :: Reviews & Articles ::
Forum :: Info :: :: Facebook :: Youtube :: RSS Feed
Search  :: Register :: Log in
Downloading with Bittorent
View previous topic :: View next topic  
timberwolfblues
Rated R

PostPosted: Fri, 03 Jun 2005 12:03:57    Post Subject: Downloading with Bittorent Reply with quote View Single Post

Hey there all. I had a question as I am fairly new to this piece of software. I have Bittorent and I am downloading a newer version of Knoppix then what I currently have. It's downloading at 1K/B per second at this moment. Is there a setting I should know about? I am running XP Pro with SP 2 and was wondering what was up. Thanks in advance for any suggestions and/or solutions.

I'm a newbie here and I hope to have some good disscussions here. Thanks all!
Little Bruin
Boo Boo

Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!

PostPosted: Fri, 03 Jun 2005 12:25:00    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

Hi timberwolfblues, welcome!

I have never personally used a Torrent, but I know they work by having the file shared from users that have downloaded, or at least started to download the file. Once the original file is listed, it gets downloaded by others, and then new requests download it from the various seeded locations to split up the bandwidth and perhaps improve download times.

Perhaps you are downloading from a busy source or from a seeded location with a slow connection.

What kind of connection to the internet do you have?
timberwolfblues
Rated R

PostPosted: Fri, 03 Jun 2005 12:54:35    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

I have a T1 line here at work
Doctor Feelgood
Arrrrghh!

PostPosted: Fri, 03 Jun 2005 12:57:15    Post Subject: Reply with quote View Single Post

OK, so the bottleneck isn't on your end... Grin

Hopefully someone with more input will follow up soon, but my guess would be the peer on the other end may be slow...
timberwolfblues
Rated R